Parent Representatives

Each month, a parent representative from each ICCSD Band, Orchestra, and Choir program attends the Iowa City Music Auxiliary meeting.

2018-2019 School Year Meeting Dates:

  • Jan 28, 2019
  • Feb 25, 2019
  • March 25 , 2019
  • April 22 , 2019
  • June 3, 2019

2018-2019 Iowa City Music Auxiliary Board:

President Christine Blaumueller info@iowacitymusicauxiliary.org
Vice-President Katie Senn content@iowacitymusicauxiliary.org
Past President Deborah Wagner deborah.a.wagner@gmail.com
Treasurer Francine Rath francinerath@gmail.com
Secretary Mona Parekh secretary@iowacitymusicauxiliary.org
Ditrict Music Coordinator Jon Welch welch.jon@iowacityschools.org
Information Officer Bill Emerson bemerson@forceamp.com
City High Band Anita Schuckert aschuckert@mchsi.com
City High Orchestra Marc Janssen janssen3434@gmail.com
City High Choir Karen Charney kchar4@hotmail.com
West High Band Jamie Bagan jamie@baganfamily.com
West High Orchestra Martha Terry marthaterry24@yahoo.com
West High Choir Mona Parekh mona.parekh@kirkwood.edu
Liberty High Band Lori Doerschug lori.doerschug@gmail.com
Liberty High Choir
Liberty High Orchestra Sandy Kacena sandykacena@gmail.com
NCJH Band Lisa Heying heying.lisa@gmail.com
NCJH Orchestra Drew Mounce drewsteroo@hotmail.com
NCJH Orchestra Maureen Young mbhfyoung@hotmail.com
NCJH Choir Denise Zumbach dzumbach@icloud.com
SEJH Band Mary Murphy mg9425@mchsi.com
SEJH Orchestra Jeff Charis-Carlson jcharisc@gmail.com
SEJH Choir Laura Green Laura.Green@kirkwood.edu
NWJH Band Janis Deyak jdeyak@marykay.com
NWJH Orchestra Nicole Vogt  nicole-vogt@uiowa.edu
NWJH Orchestra Lori Genkinger  lorigenk@yahoo.com
NWJH Choir
Eastside Elementary Band Mandi Bozarth mandibozarth@gmail.com
Eastside Elementary Orchestra Heidi Pierce heidipierce.familiesinc@gmail.com
Westside Elementary Band
Westside Elementary Orchestra Omega Dancel dancel.omega@iowacityschools.org
Northside Elementary Band Valerie Hoffman valerie.f.hoffman@gmail.com
Northside Elementary Orchestra

Roles and Responsibilities of a Parent Representative:

    • Attend monthly Auxiliary meetings (4th Monday of the month) and give director’s report.
      • A week or so before the MA meeting, you may need to email your director to remind him/her to send you and the MA secretary a copy of their monthly report
    • Car Wash
      • At the September MA meeting parent rep will take 2 signs for each school they represent and post signs the Tuesday before the car wash
  • Take tickets/money at each concert you are a parent rep for
      • Get a list of parent emails from your director.  A week or so before each concert email parents and ask for 1-2 volunteers to help you take tickets/money at the concert.  This is a great way to other parents involved and maybe they will take on a larger MA responsibility in the future.
      • Find out from your director, for concerts where to get the following:
          • Programs and donor inserts
          • MA ticket signs
          • MA tri-fold poster
          • Orchid donor forms
        • Money box and family passes
      • Concert Procedures
          • MA sign displayed with the orchid donor letters nearby
          • Sign – price of tickets and family passes on the table where the money is taken
        • When someone purchases a family pass, they receive two passes (one for each parent). When a person presents a pass, that pass allows ALL family members (parents, children, grandparents, aunts, uncles, family friend, etc.)in no matter how many.
    • Donor list inserted in the program
      • Music directors and parent rep need to discuss who will assemble.