About Us

What is the Iowa City Music Auxiliary?

We are the parent organization dedicated to the support and enrichment of all performance music programs – band, orchestra, choir – in the Iowa City Community School District. These great programs are available to every student in the district, reaching students in 5th–12th grade.

What we support:

During the 2018/19 school year, we provided over $62,000 to our music programs, including:

  • $34,000 in transportation (elementary through high school)
  • $19,000 in entrance fees for competitions and events
  • $6,000 for uniform cleaning
  • $3,000 for awards

Our support significantly reduces the cost of music education for the families in our community!

How can you join the Music Auxiliary?

Rather than charging a membership fee, we raise money for music activities by asking for donations:

  • through mailings
  • at concerts (look for our collection boxes when you buy your tickets)
  • at special events like our Free Car Wash
  • through the ICCSD Foundation website (choose “Music Auxiliary” from campaign list):

Donate at the ICCSD Foundation

How else can you help?

  • Volunteer at one of our fundraisers
  • Ask your child’s music director about becoming their parent representative

Each month, a parent representative from each ICCSD Band, Orchestra, and Choir program attends the Iowa City Music Auxiliary meeting.

2019-2020 Iowa City Music Auxiliary Board:

Executive Committee
President Katie Senn katharinesenn@gmail.com
Past-President Christine Blaumueller christine-blaumueller@uiowa.edu
Vice-President
Secretary Mandi Bozarth mandibozarth@gmail.com
Treasurer Joe Henderson jhenderson.ic@gmail.com
Information Maureen Young mbhfyoung@hotmail.com
District Jon Welch welch.jon@iowacityschools.org
Northside Representatives
Liberty High Band Marge Hartman margehartman220@gmail.com
Liberty High Choir
Liberty High Orchestra Lyn Peterson lynbriannatedani@yahoo.com
North Central Band Valerie Hoffman valerie.f.hoffman@gmail.com
North Central Choir Shannon Knipfer shannonknipfer@gmail.com
North Central Orchestra Drew Mounce drewsteroo@hotmail.com
North Elementary Orchestra Kristen Wolf krispy0630@gmail.com
North Elementary Band
Eastside Representatives
City High Band Dirk Stadtlander dirkrstadtlander@gmail.com
City High Choir Anita Schuckert aschuckert@mchsi.com
City High Orchestra Marc Janssen janssen3434@gmail.com
Southeast Band Ruth Potter-Ruth ruth.potter.ruth@gmail.com
Southeast Choir Laura Green Laura.Green@kirkwood.edu
Southeast Orchestra Jeff Charis-Carlson jcharisc@gmail.com
East Elementary Band
East Elementary Orchestra Heidi Pierce
heidipierce.familiesinc@gmail.com
Westside Representatives
West High Band
West High Choir
West High Orchestra Martha Terry marthaterry24@yahoo.com
Northwest Band Wendy Reed mwreed02@msn.com
Northwest Choir Jason Moore jevanmoore@gmail.com
Northwest Orchestra Denise Zumbach dzumbach@icloud.com
West Elementary Band
West Elementary Orchestra

2019-2020 School Year Meeting Dates:

  • August 26th, 2019
  • September 23rd, 2019
  • October 28th, 2019
  • November 25th, 2019
  • January 27, 2020
  • February 24th, 2020
  • March 23rd, 2020
  • April 27, 2020
  • June 1, 2020

Roles and Responsibilities of a Parent Representative:

    • Attend monthly Auxiliary meetings (4th Monday of the month) and give director’s report.
      • A week or so before the MA meeting, you may need to email your director to remind him/her to send you and the MA secretary a copy of their monthly report
    • Car Wash
      • At the September MA meeting parent rep will take 2 signs for each school they represent and post signs the Tuesday before the car wash
  • Take tickets/money at each concert you are a parent rep for
      • Get a list of parent emails from your director.  A week or so before each concert email parents and ask for 1-2 volunteers to help you take tickets/money at the concert.  This is a great way to other parents involved and maybe they will take on a larger MA responsibility in the future.
      • Find out from your director, for concerts where to get the following:
          • Programs and donor inserts
          • MA ticket signs
          • MA tri-fold poster
          • Orchid donor forms
        • Money box and family passes
      • Concert Procedures
          • MA sign displayed with the orchid donor letters nearby
          • Sign – price of tickets and family passes on the table where the money is taken
        • When someone purchases a family pass, they receive two passes (one for each parent). When a person presents a pass, that pass allows ALL family members (parents, children, grandparents, aunts, uncles, family friend, etc.)in no matter how many.
    • Donor list inserted in the program
      • Music directors and parent rep need to discuss who will assemble.